– honest abe –

Honest Abe, Honest Abe,

the figure I aspire to be.

Honest Abe, Honest Abe,

figure me out; inspire me.

 

The truth I long to cling to,

a surely moral creature.

No man, mortal, or moron

can dull such virtuous feature.

 

Honest Abe, Honest Abe,

take this heart and turn it earnest.

Honest Abe, Honest Abe,

candor – aid me to learn this.

 

I search the roads, high and low,

hoping to cross Abe’s wisdom,

but the chicken standing on the curb

relishes in this insincere prison.

 

I try in these trying times,

truth in its splendor I crave.

I reason with such frivolous rhymes

for I don’t believe in all I pray.

It is why I reach out my hand,

emerge from under shade.

If trust can be put into any man,

Lord let it be Honest Abe.

 

D.J. Whisenant

Leave a Reply

