– self-examination –

I have never seen a number of objects in person.

I have never tasted a number of delicacies.

I have never explored much outside my window.

Now, I believe what my soul is telling me.

What a short whisper I am.

What a prejudicial mind I possess.

What a strange plain I find myself roaming.

Now, I know what it means to be blessed.

 

I have never claimed another’s heartbeat.

I have never listened to every song sung.

I have never slow danced with my lover.

Now, this battle needs to be won.

What a careless vessel I am.

What a cold temper I possess.

What a dry jungle I find myself roaming.

Now, I know truth… with faith no less.

 

 

D.J. Whisenant

Leave a Reply

