– arms around him –

If I see my father again in the flesh,

I’ll wrap my arms around him,

forgiving him for what he didn’t do.

 

We’ll paint canvases and houses,

not for money, but for art.

We’ll paint canvases and houses,

for creativity is where we’ll start.

 

We’ll have lunch in Birmingham diners,

discussing Alabama versus LSU.

We’ll have lunch in Birmingham diners,

discussing photographs and designs too.

 

We’ll ride through the town of Gadsden,

analyzing the aura of the streets.

We’ll ride through the town of Gadsden,

analyzing the grandparents I’ll never meet.

 

We’ll entertain my so-called stepmother,

singing Motown and many classic songs.

 We’ll entertain my so-called stepmother,

building our fractured family strong.

 

We’ll reunite my brother and sisters,

before the sun finally sets in.

We’ll reunite my brothers and sisters,

a picnic with the closest of kin.

 

We’ll pray on our knees in the hills,

giving ourselves to faith quite warm.

We’ll pray on our knees in the hills,

giving thanks to the use of our arms.

D.J. Whisenant

3 thoughts on “– arms around him –

Leave a Reply

