– once or twice before –

Oh I loved you, yes, I loved you…

once or twice before,

and you hurt me and desert me…

each time all the more.

 

So before I get repetitive,

ramble on with rhymes,

will you wait and listen,

will you take the time?

 

‘Cause I loved you, yes, I loved you…

on an autumn day,

and you hurt and desert me…

straight on through to May.

 

So before I get repetitive,

ramble on with speech,

will you fix my weary heart,

and practice what you preach?

 

‘Cause I loved you, yes, I loved you…

at a corner shop,

and you hurt me and desert me…

for some soda pop.

 

So before I get repetitive,

ramble on with tears,

would you get the Kleenex ready

to comfort me for years?

 

‘Cause I loved you, yes, I loved you…

through my honesty,

and you hurt me and desert me…

with such reality.

 

So before I get repetitive,

ramble on with faith,

would you trust my bony palms,

praying with such grace?

 

Yes I loved you, oh, I loved you…

once or twice before,

and you hurt me and desert me…

so I’m out the door.

 

 

D.J. Whisenant

One thought on “– once or twice before –

Leave a Reply

