– inside –

I invited you in,

lacking judgment.

I invited you in,

probably for the thrill.

As a young boy,

I didn’t no better.

As a young man…

I know nothing still.

 

You came in,

scratched my skin,

made a mockery of me.

You came in,

ignited my sin,

and now you will not leave.

 

I gave you a chance,

lacking lessons learned.

I gave you a chance,

perhaps out of fear.

As a young boy,

I was foolish and naive.

As a young man,  

naïveté still lives here.

 

You came in,

scratched my skin,

made a mockery of me.

You came in,

ignited my sin,

and now you will not leave.

You blew in,

like the wind,

trashing this house of mine.

Alright then,

let’s not pretend

how you damaged the inside. 

 

 

D.J. Whisenant

Leave a Reply

