– unfinished pages –

Turn the page, turn the page, turn, turn, turn…

turn the page, turn the page, turn, turn, turn…

turn the page, turn the page, turn, turn, turn…

turn the page, turn the…

 

Three journals laying in my bedroom…

after three years, there’s still much room.

Young eyes tangled me in confusion,

making my craft to me an illusion.

Sometimes I write, sometimes I don’t,

but now I speak, hesitate I won’t.

Distraction left my fingers all but diminshed…

but these pages won’t die unfinished.

 

I’ll write each day ’bout my life’s role,

as a saint, as a sinner, as an asshole.

As long as my palms live the stages,

I won’t rest until I complete these pages.

Turn the page, turn the page, turn, turn, turn…

turn the page, turn the page, turn, turn, turn…

turn the page, turn the page, turn, turn, turn…

turn the page, turn the page, turn, turn, turn.

 

I’ll write about livin’ with my momma,

about struggling with this Sallie Mae drama.

I’ll pen down the present and what it says.

I’ll write about making music with my homie Dez.

With such fierce words, slack off I won’t

’cause now I see, but if I don’t

win the battles that this world always wages…

at least I know I’ve got filled pages.

 

I’ll write each day ’bout my life’s role,

as a saint, as a sinner, as an asshole.

As long as my palms live the stages,

I won’t rest until I complete these pages.

Turn the page, turn the page, turn, turn, turn…

turn the page, turn the page, turn, turn, turn…

turn the page, turn the page, turn, turn, turn…

turn the page, turn the page, turn, turn, turn.

 

 

D.J. Whisenant

 

One thought on “– unfinished pages –

Leave a Reply

