– white horse –

 The twist and turn

of the road

wound me up as

I drove slow.

Then, on a route

far from here,

my eye was caught

by no steer.

 

They were horses, mostly covered in

bodacious brown.

As I peeked off of the road, my heart

made no sad sound,

for there was one lone filly,

and this may be somewhat silly,

but for my eyes did see –

a mare coated in ivory.

 

I saw a white horse…

a white horse,

standing without remorse…

but of course.

On a Sunday afternoon,

the beauty just before June,

it gave me just what I lacked.

I saw a white horse…

a white horse,

standing with such force…

what a source.

And not a moment too soon,

I gallop to a new tune

to get myself back on track.

 

 

D.J. Whisenant

Leave a Reply

