– i hugged a tree –

Just a simple walk

in the park,

just a simple talk

in my mind.

Just the evening sun

raining shadows,

and some kind of fun

just left behind.

 

The world of Twitter

brought to me

an Ohio woman

who hugged trees.

I opened myself to

possibility…

but plant affection?

Too damn silly.

 

So, the moment was unexpected,

unrehearsed,

unbecoming.

Of course, I took a look around

for watchers, for waiters,

for ignorant anticipators.

 

And as I stepped up to the trunk,

my heart rate sped a little.

As I opened up my limbs,

my heart rate then sped quicker.

As I wrapped my arms around,

silence stood before my being.

And as I stepped away from the trunk,

I found some slight, simple meaning. 

 

 

D.J. Whisenant

Leave a Reply

