– sonnet # 2 –

I drove along a setting sun

Looking for what I shouldn’t have sought.

Curiosity, however, weighed a ton,

Such a heavy load had been wrought.

My quest dragged me to the west side,

Then back through the south end,

And into Austintown was the ride

That made my query and solution amend.

Breathtaking view painted the car windows

As afternoon rain dried here and there,

While my mind took in mementos

Of what lessons I take with good care –

For childish children have gone to roam,

So why not be acquainted with their home?

 

 

D.J. Whisenant

Leave a Reply

