‘I WAS SURROUNDED BY A MOB OF PEOPLE’ BY Zachary Schomburg

The following poem was found in another book my friend Vickey gave me. I’m having a hard time interpreting the meaning of this piece, but I still like it. Enjoy!

 

I was surrounded by a mob of people. I showed my teeth. I

kicked many of them in the ribs. Many of them kicked me back,

in the ribs. One of them had the face of my dead mother and

one of them had the face of my dead father. One of them had

my face. I asked the one with my face where he got that face,

but he only echoed exactly what I asked and then, just like I

did, waited impatiently for an answer. Where did you get that

face? Where did you get that face? Where did you get that face?

Where did you get that face?

 

This back and forth went on for a very long time, then there

was a long loaded silence until I felt my skeleton arm move my

arm arm up toward his mouth and my skeleton finger move

my finger finger ono his lips while his arm moved toward

my mouth and while his finger touched lips. We were like

babies again.

 

 

-Taken from Scary, No Scary (2009)

Leave a Reply

