– good guy –

I’ll be good in the spotlight,

as much as it kills me sometimes.

Many say I should never get tired of

doing what’s right,

planting good seeds,

performing marvelous deeds.

Right now though…

the weight on my heart is

a load I bear with difficulty.

Does reaching out my hand

to another strange man

really stop the vermin of the land?

 

I’ll be good in the spotlight,

as much as it kills me sometimes.

Many say I should always act as

a man acceptable in His sight,

striving for pale perfection,

sprinting in one direction.

Right now though…

I feel the need for a break…

just for a gulp of Gatorade.

Does light vanquish the lies,

self-proclaimed or otherwise,

whether they’re obvious or disguised?

 

I’ll be good in the spotlight…

would be nice if someone turned it off

once in a while though.

 

 

D.J. Whisenant

Leave a Reply

