– black candle –

If you

feel my best ain’t

good enough, then

take a black candle,

light it up, and

please say “R.I.P.” to the

way it could’ve been. I’ll ad-

mit I do not

know a lot, but I

know I’m giving

all I got, so I’ll

just say “R.I.P.” to the

way it could’ve been.

 

A black candle to

match these black roses,

our dying day has

finally arrived.

I wish you well, though

you may not notice,

as this candle burns…

long into the night. 

 

A black candle to

match this black casket,

I’m taking the reins to

keep from crashing down.

Wish you loved my quirks, but

too much to ask it,

so I bid farewell, and

bury us in the ground. If you

 

feel my best ain’t

good enough, then

take a black candle,

light it up, and

please say “R.I.P.” to the

way it could’ve been. I’ll ad-

mit I do not

know a lot, but I

know I’m giving

all I got, so I’ll

just say “R.I.P.” to the

way it could’ve been.

 

 

D.J. Whisenant

2 thoughts on “– black candle –

  1. With everything I do, I do they very best I can. For instance, most of my cartoons have been drawn and redrawn a dozen times. None reach the professional look or have the sophistication of the use of digital graphic art production as my skills there are too primitive. So for me it is not a matter pf perfection but a matter of craftsmanship. And I leave it at that. Just as in poetry or any other art it is ultimately up to the viewer or reader if the work has merit or to what degree of merit. That is all one can do. So R.I.P. may be one way to think but on the other hand most critics never gave birth to anything at all.

Leave a Reply

