– to want for nothing –

How my heart craves to want…

to want for nothing,

free from the tired chains of 

tempting fruit.

Too bad I’m human, therefore…

give me that something,

something I know down low is

just no good.

 

In the distance,

I view grass

on the greener side.

There’s resistance

to the path,

so I close my eyes;

wicked world, go away,

tease again some other day.

Wicked world, go away,

find another soul to prey.

Perhaps I miss this,

miss the task to

feed my heart’s desire. 

 

 

D.J. Whisenant

Leave a Reply

