– legacy –

Remnants of your history

in these here parts

still linger… and some

townsfolk won’t disengage

ties from my heart to

your finger.

 

Stories of a photographer, a

guy I barely knew…

tales of a community figure who

barely followed though. I

question my forgiveness,

question all my mercy, for

reminders of your character still

hurt me.

 

Papa, oh father, feel

all my disdain. Feel it

all, feel it all… through

dense DNA.

Abba, mi padre, please

take all this shame. Take it

all, take it all… please

take it today.

 

 

D.J. Whisenant

Leave a Reply

