– everyday, the written word –

Keep these hands dig-

gin’, scratchin’, bendin’,

and-re-peat.

 

Keep these words trans-

fixed on a trail where

truth and ink meet.

As I

write and recite the

tale of this no-

body….

as I

come into de-

light with this whole

body.

 

Keep this mind swim-

min’, list’nin’, munchin’,

and-re-peat.

 

Keep each phrase a-

blaze when I mark and

fill each sheet.

As I

write and recite the

tale of this no-

body…

if I

got these words then

ev’ry day’s a

party.

With

 

palms open

and a

story to tell,

I

make truth out

of this

wishing well,

and I will

try to bring the

written word.

I will

try to sing the

written word.

I will

cry to use the

written word.

I will

die with, too, the

written word.

 

 

D.J. Whisenant 

4 thoughts on “– everyday, the written word –

Leave a Reply

