– waiting for no one –

Snowy night at a cramped

bar, I de-

cided to test the

fates. It was a

random event by

far, yet I

longed to be en-

gaged. So I

tried a new drink, and

barely got drunk. I

chased the house noise to

distract the hunt, for

I… was… drinking… for

two.

Dim lights darkened the

sight, with the

TVs on some sports

game, I just

texted with all of my

might, hoping

response would be your

name. As I

finished my drink ‘fore

1 o’clock, the

noise died down, I

sank and rot, for

I… was… drinking… for

you.

 

Hope against all

hope…

dreams against all

sense…

timing told me

‘nope’…

yet I still pre-

tend.

Hope against all

hope…

dying with the

stars…

leaving empty

ale…

at a crowded

bar.

 

 

D.J. Whisenant

9 thoughts on “– waiting for no one –

  1. I really like this Ms JD (hope that is a reason title for you). You create the sense of longing and expectation very well. Is there a reason why you structure your poems the way toy do, like splitting words across lines? I do enjoy reading your posts. Michael

Leave a Reply

