– she understands –

I need the space, the distance and time too it seems.

Some say I should not be alone, and I don’t disagree, but I’m

just gnawing apart, the softest piece of my heart. Oh,

these strings can’t be cut… they’re just offbeat.

 

I know she understands; I know she cares.

She said herself to just explore… but if I

don’t return, will she love me still? If I

never come back for one more act, will she forgive?

 

I need the moment, a chance to gather some good clouds.

Some say I should not dream too much, but I am just too proud, yet I’m

just going insane, these padded walls ‘round my brain. Oh,

these pills cannot cure… not then, not now.

 

I know he understands; I know he cares.

He said himself this town’s ain’t rich… but if I

don’t return, will his arms open still? If I

never come back for one more act, will he forgive?

 

Would it be too bold to listen to my soul, in-

stead of circling the same ole block?

Would it be unkind to step out of the line, though

their love feels like all you’ve got?

 

I know they understand; I know they care.

They’ve seen the wrinkles firsthand… so if I

don’t return, will they both forgive? If I

never come back for one more act, will I still live?

 

 

D.J. Whisenant

4 thoughts on “– she understands –

Leave a Reply

