– foolishly –

Heart beats faster than a bullet…

yet it beats out of time?

Another sign of little ole me…

thinking foolishly.

Mad thought, so why do it…

leaving sense behind? 

Staying on course so I can see…

a little sanity. This

 

blood it rumbles and it tumbles,

beyond pitter-pat. The

lines ‘tween love and lust I fumble,

so I can’t go back.

 

Tell my friends how I blew it…

in this lane of mine? 

Won’t let veins clot up and bleed…

thinking foolishly.

 

 

D.J. Whisenant

2 thoughts on “– foolishly –

  1. This reads so well. The rhythm and cadence match the physicality of your words, and the emotion behind them.

Leave a Reply

