– could we be –

My

love’s too patient; my love’s too kind…

much too much that I’m damn near blind. I

see doves only in my head.

On a

rainy night, I still count the stars, while

floods wash my heart out too far. The

meteor showers warn me instead.

What

is someone like me to do, with my

head caught in a cloud again, drifting

towards someone like you, my

almost love and could-be friend?

So tell me could we

 

be, on a patient and kind Earth,

letting vision find rebirth,

and the doves will fly for real…

all the day long,

… and we’ll wash away each tear,

and we’ll fight away each fear.

In the stars, could we both feel…

all of love’s song?

 

 

D.J. Whisenant

2 thoughts on “– could we be –

Leave a Reply

