– nightfall: sunset –

Ev’ry time you run, ev’ry time you run,

ev’ry time you run away… a

tinge of fever runs right through my

bones. A

cold snap… in the midst of summer,

as winter brings a dark inferno,

as you set, I’m being set up to

be all alone.

 

One of these nights I’ll find somebody,

reset my soul to its core warmth –

in touch with the fireflies,

raking in ev’ry sound.

One of these nights I’ll come upon the

one who’ll never do me no harm –

holding my heart ev’ry night,

when the sun goes down.

D.J. Whisenant

6 thoughts on “– nightfall: sunset –

Leave a Reply

