– nightfall: no liquor tonight –

Said it before, and I’ll

say it again – this

vessel ain’t well-built for a

bottle of gin. These

stars may twinkle brightly, yet this

shot glass does too, while

Jackie D and Jimmy Beam are

seizing the room.

 

NO MEANS NO! Yes

that’s what I said. Mr.

Liquor Man, I know you can stay

out of my head.

GO MEANS GO! Yes

believe it’s true – there are

other ways to shorten days ‘stead

of chasing you.

 

Tasted at night, never

tasted in day – this

warmer flavor I have savored,

and I have paid. These

shots may be crucial, yet my

needs are ajar; that’s

why this vessel’s sailing off; it’s

leaving this bar.

 

NO MEANS NO! Yes

that’s what I said. As I’m

keeping cool in Midwest rule, you’re

headed to bed.

GO MEANS GO! Yes

believe it’s true – in a

grand nightfall, my senses call to

run off from you.

D.J, Whisenant

One thought on “– nightfall: no liquor tonight –

Leave a Reply

