– asking for trouble –

I’d hate to be crass,

don’t wanna be an ass…

but please let me be

reckless.

Once and once only,

shed all the knowing…

and I’ll be over-

zealous.

Fighting for ideas while

fighting at the bar,

fighting common sense in the

back seat of a car,

act like a heathen –

press pause on helpless.

Should I be careful for wishing,

or downright careless?

Yes, I’m asking for

trouble.

Whispering heat into the cold,

setting Frosties on fire,

please dare me on the

double.

Don’t doubt me now;

I’m good all on my own.

Don’t doubt me now,

I’m bad at the unknown.

D.J. Whisenant

3 thoughts on “– asking for trouble –

Leave a Reply

