We Sing Auld Lang Syne

This HAS TO BE the most appropriate poem for entering 2015.

Black and Write

We sing Auld Lang Syne,

Drink toasts, kiss one another

Parting as best friends

Is any of this sincere

Or just another facade

 

I really don’t know

Perhaps it’s the tradition

An obligation

Giving hope in the New Year

To the masses of hopeless

 

Regardless of why

I shall tip my glass with glee

Drink my libation

Kiss and hug as dictated

Joining the hopeless in hope

 

This is my duty

As a member of mankind

Which I shall not shirk

Performed with an honest smile

And truest love in my heart

 

A Happy New Year

And a sincere best wishes

Are my closing words

May it be all that you hoped

And greater than expected

 

~~ Dominic R. DiFrancesco ~~

View original post

Leave a Reply

