– imagine –

The glow of summer sun

bursting through branches of elms and oaks,

as if it were shining just for two…

I imagine this to be unconditional love,

pure in its most raw and unashamed

of definitions.

Reckless with warmth,

maniacal with every color that screams “devotion”,

the strength of such love could make

The Boogeyman weep,

the ogre cower, and

the bloodhound wimper.

What radiance…

this delight which I have yet to encounter,

barricaded on this winding road

due to feelings I just cannot comprehend.

How I long for the sunlight upon my skin,

smiling with the happiest of happy tears

from each eye.

These tears I would shed for my love,

finally requited.

These tears I would shed for my life,

finally rejuvenated.

The tears I would shed for the sun;

finally… summer had entered.

D.J. Whisenant

2 thoughts on “– imagine –

Leave a Reply

