– apologies to ben & jerry –

Smoother than a newborn’s skin,

creamier than the most fresh of milk,

sweeter than revenge in any form,

I have discovered my next great love…

how can I return to the way things were?

~

We had our silly moments of grandeur together:

drives across the border to claim you at a cheaper price,

nighttime affairs in the kitchen… and the living room… and my bedroom,

countless toothaches that were worth it for the flavor alone,

but I must restate the question:

how can I return to the way things were?

~

Perhaps you will forgive me one day…

it’s not you – it’s me my taste buds.

D.J. Whisenant

Leave a Reply

