– today’s failure –

The effort was always present,

even in the face of temptation.

Outrageous, but worthy,

my goal was a lofty one.

I set the bar at such a high peak.

Peers laughed,

each chuckle containing

a filling of understandable skepticism.

Well, temptation had a an ace up its sleeve,

one that was my undoing.

Why, however, do I believe I turned out to be

the victor?

I failed,

and only after 19 short days.

I should be in the loser circle,

crying and sighing about another letdown.

I have found myself to be ashamed of many life events…

the outcome of this event does not fall into that category.

D.J. Whisenant

Leave a Reply

