– leo –

In this present hour,

is there any constellation that can

give me consolation?

I could barely see the diamonds

through all the pollution.

Now, not-so-dry eyes must

contend with the rain too?

Just when I’m feeling less like a coward,

it is the rain that knocks me down again,

hitting me like baby sledgehammers

against worn and torn brick.

~

If you are my designated map,

why am I still riding around in circles?

I’m not looking for a light show;

I just want the arrow pointing in

the proper direction.

Console me brave creature…

guide me home.

~

~

D.J. Whisenant

Leave a Reply

