– emergency (Interactive Poetry) –

Once again, Dom from Thoughts from A Rambling Psyche has offered up an interactive poetry challenge. I gave him three words to write into an original poem of his, and in exchange, he gave me three words for a poem of my own. His words for me this time (blaze, road, hospital) inspired the direction of this poem. Hope you enjoy, and please visit Dom’s blog!

Broken bones on a broken road…

this is an emergency.

Broken hope as I heal alone…

do you hear the urgency?

Tell a doctor fix me up so quick, quick, quick…

at the nearest hospital.

I’m not ill, yet still I’m somehow sick, sick, sick…

sick of fighting ‘gainst it all.

~

See the bruises on my face, cuts upon my arms,

in a blaze of the brightest red and darkest blue.

If you’re sick and tired of the broken road’s harm,

surely, you’d be hollering for any help too.

~

~

D.J. Whisenant

2 thoughts on “– emergency (Interactive Poetry) –

Leave a Reply

