– if i survive –

It could be me…

any day now.

With or without

this skin I’m in,

my body could easily feel

the blows and the bullets.

With or without

the flashes of red and blue,

my life could easily be seized

from this vessel…

but what about my soul?

~

In the off chance I survive

such an ordeal,

I pray that I love harder.

In the off chance I survive

such an ordeal,

I pray that I show forgiveness.

In the off chance I survive

such an ordeal,

I pray that I expose my dignity.

In the off chance I survive

such an ordeal,

I pray that I exemplify strength.

~

Resistance doesn’t have to shine through

violent retaliation…

how could that heal the soul?

~

~

D.J. Whisenant

3 thoughts on “– if i survive –

  1. My adult children and grandchildren have “survived” 5 drive-by shootings. In Miami, even pre-teens know it’s a reality and possibility to die this way. Hardened. Expecting death as a natural incident in da hood. Not a very nice way to grow up in far too many inner cities across this country.

Leave a Reply

