– boogie on the day shift –

A dastardly devil there inside,

I get that itch down my spine.

A daring demon not left alone,

I get that twitch in my bones.

~

Song or silence,

labeled and loaded,

my feet speak fiercely,

wilder perhaps than my work ethic.

~

Peers act like parents,

for they just don’t understand.

Electric on the main floor,

to move is the main plan.

~

Playing and swaying to any rhythm,

I conjure up the dancer –

the devil indeed or

angelic joy used incorrectly?

~

~

D.J. Whisenant

Leave a Reply

