– my prejudice gives a private show –

I’ve gained a fair amount of tact in my adult years.

I’ve learned the damage that assumption can do.

This lesson just isn’t enough though,

not in the heat of common appearances

from seemingly common individuals.

The words that slip from my lips

drip with unhip shades of ignorance.

Surprise over another’s true passions and interests

should not be a plot twist at this point in the story.

26 years of shock and awe…

when will the prejudice end?

~

~

D.J. Whisenant

Leave a Reply

