– he will win –

Should have known, should have known…

shouldn’t have been doubt in my mind.

I was wrong, I was wrong…

thankful I was wrong this time.

~

Complicated man…

strong mind, strong backbone.

Workin’ with his hands…

earning paper for his home, but

still rowin’ over the

sins of backwaters, yet

he will row forward for

his son and daughter.

~

He will not run; he will

duke it out,

blow by hard blow, ’til the

very last round.

I will salute along

every sideline, be-

cause he will win – no doubt

left in my mind.

~

~

D.J. Whisenant

Leave a Reply

