– won’t come back –

I hear the engine runnin’,

fuel is burnin’, stomach turnin’,

and the time is tickin’ all my

fortune away.

So clear the truth is hauntin’,

change I’m huntin’, flippin’ somethin’.

so it’s time I pack my bags and

leave here today.

~

Fool myself once…

shame on me.

Fool myself twice?

What a disease.

Patience was a killer for me,

but now I’m ready to run free,

so make sure that you best believe

I won’t come back.

Deaf and dumb to what I could be,

now I feel possibilities;

make sure you hear, touch, taste, and see

I won’t come back.

~

~

D.J. Whisenant

Leave a Reply

