– 1. inferno –

If

I could save the world from burning,

Lord knows that I would, but

I can’t keep love solely turning,

like the way you do.

It’s the way you go about,

as we all expire,

this earth is done, nowhere to run, Ve-

suvius bonfire.

~

I understand…

we never stood a

chance… nope… so

what can we do?

Was this the plan…

an imagined ro-

mance… smoke… and

we lit the fuse?

Couldn’t save the world…

but I still loved.

Couldn’t save the world…

was my love true?

I did what I could do…

on fire for me,

on fire for you.

~

~

D.J. Whisenant

Leave a Reply

