– the blessing of st. james –

Jimmy… Jimmy…

strange, deranged, and skinny…

someone tell me how he could

do this to me!

~

Couldn’t say Amen that

night… but I

had to pay respect to my

dear St. James.

Tried to sing my psalms just

right… while

all other parishioners praised

him the same.

Couldn’t stay in church too

long… so I

went to take a bow from the

Sunday morning crowd. I

told him he was grand, a

“faith-in-fashion” man, then

he pulled me in firm – with a

pistol, took his turn…

~

JIMMY HAD A BULLET FOR ME

shot me deep into the

pit of my soul.

DAMN I SHOULD’VE SEEN IT COMING

kept this frigid fire from

turning too cold. He

invited me palms out,

waited for the calm down,

aimed at me, and then released that

critical blow.

JIMMY HAD A BULLET FOR ME

was it fatal? My Sweet

Lord I pray so.

~
~
D.J. Whisenant

Leave a Reply

