– soul song –

The drummer hits the

count with the strongest rhythm,

kick, snare, and hi-hat chillin’,

all throughout my bones I feel it.

The bass guitar…

pulls me down and far

into the groove – now I’m

lost in my moves.

One time for the ivories,

’88 born, 88 keys!

Give it up for the horn section;

hit it high for heaven’s blessin’!

Now you’d be straight up messin’

without a guitar electric;

rough me up with your riffs

as you lift up this

~

soul… soul

song…

lift it up from the deepest

depth of me. Lift up a

soul… soul

song…

lift it up from the deepest

breath of me.

In the retro lights,

in the fog and smoke,

lift it on the floor with the

score of your notes. Lift up a 

soul… soul

song…

lift it up from the deepest

depth of me.

~

~

D.J. Whisenant

6 thoughts on “– soul song –

Leave a Reply

