– relief –

A lovely day…

in the autumn sunlight,

Above I pray…

that the truth has shone bright

throughout my face…

unto a place so

foreign, far off –

where’s the relief?

Dressed up and down…

in New England patterns,

I did not frown…

when the cut came after.

I’m still around…

and that’s what counts, no

take backs, take offs –

found my relief.

~

Breathed a little breath, if

just for today.

Exhaled, prevailed;

I did not fail.

Breathed a little breath, the

New England way –

comfort did come out to play

on this lovely Autumn day.

~

~

D.J. Whisenant

3 thoughts on “– relief –

Leave a Reply

