drinking buddies

I’m definitely a fan of J Matthew Waters and his writing. After you read this poem, I genuinely believe you will be a fan as well.

jdubqca


in college I drank with the best
of them
the irish and the english
and all their neighbors
spaniards and moroccans and
mesopotamians
eurasians and asians and indians
and native americans
the under-aged and over-aged
the jock and nerd and hipster
women and men and transgenders
you name ‘em
we all got along in the bar

after college I was plunged into
the outside world
where none of it seemed to matter
and I found myself witnessing
people ignoring people of all kinds
pointing fingers and impugning
cursing and kicking and hating
for no good reason
forcing me to question my formative years
wondering if they were nothing more
than an exercise of naiveté


october two thousand fifteen
copyright j matthew waters
all rights reserved

View original post

2 thoughts on “drinking buddies

  1. Last time in bar was 15 years ago after daily attendance for three decades. Then my drinking buddy was myself, alone. Now clean and sober 13 years , 8 months. I now see the bars were the bars keeping me in addiction.

Leave a Reply

