– both of my shoulders –

I receive my warning,

see the flashing sign…

but safety is boring, so

why not cross the line?

‘Cross it now while you’re young,

Connecticut fancy-free.

Make up later for your sins, no

need for mystery.’

‘WAIT – know better, do better now,

out here away from Momma’s house.

Crossing lines – what are you talkin’ ’bout?

Livin’ life with your empty pockets out?’

‘LIVE LIFE – these two keywords

for this tale today.

Make a mess, forget the rest –

don’t waste time away.’

‘INVEST, invest your time, and

ev’ry penny that you find.

Why burn your bony behind with de-

cisions that are ill-defined?’

‘Define your own paths,

zigging and zagging along.

Go and treat yourself right, for a

treat is never wrong.’

‘Wrong, wrong, wrong, sir –

I see your weakened nerves.

Don’t let your cravings absurd

steal away what you deserve.’

I receive my warning,

see the flashing sign…

indecision has returned;

Lord help me decide.

~

~
D.J. Whisenant

2 thoughts on “– both of my shoulders –

Leave a Reply

