– thanksgiving in manhattan –

Running for a morning train that

wasn’t even there, with

hints of chill and unknown thrill though-

out the Bridgeport air.

Caught the 6 a.m. machine and

through windows I stared… right

at the sunrise, a sight for my eyes,

unlike anywhere.

~

I was by myself…

on a Thursday…

in a kingdom made of

steel and concrete…

like anyone else…

on a Thursday…

with a kingdom so real

under my feet.

~

Walking to the great parade to

see it in the flesh, with

hints of fear and wonder here in

crowds not picturesque.

Caught the wondrous music queen Ma-

riah in the flesh, her

makeup team working full steam to

keep her at her best.

~

I was by myself…

on a Thursday…

in a kingdom made of

steel and concrete…

like anyone else…

on a Thursday…

with a kingdom so real

under my feet.

~

Cravings set in, so why pretend

to not hunger more?

Sicilian slice, at New York price,

no turkey for sure.

Found a little bakery,

bought some fresh-baked pastries, then

walking towards the Broadway sun,

the real fun had not begun…

~

Stumbling past yellow rat bastards,

recalling my sin, then

hints of itching and unknown twitching

all throughout my skin.

Caught a plaza in the shade to

catch my short breath in; my

baker’s treats were not so sweet for

allergies kicked in.

~

I was by myself…

on a Thursday…

in a kingdom made of

steel and concrete…

yet nobody else…

on a Thursday…

had desserts almost knock

them off their feet.

~

I recovered…

strolled the High Line so damn high.

I discovered…

my charity had just run dry.

I recovered…

past Times Square in lights so bold,

rediscovered…

my flaws on the train ride home.

~

~

D.J. Whisenant

 

4 thoughts on “– thanksgiving in manhattan –

Leave a Reply

