– bad man? –

In town I done ran out…

of standard charity.

What is this tale about?

Here’s standard clarity.

See the homeless each five corners,

looking known less for the foreigners.

I would have done hand out…

now no such guarantee.

~

Does that make me a cold cad,

heart hard for a season?

Does that make me a bad man,

Scrooge without a reason?

Wasn’t like I was a broke man,

yet I couldn’t see hope, man.

Is it villainy, acting selfishly,

chillin’ here without a rope, man.

~

No rope, no rope to toss,

with all I could have left.

For hope, for hope was lost –

did I just hang myself?

~

~

D.J. Whisenant

 

Leave a Reply

