– that time i almost drowned in the ocean –

Belated birthday present if I

did say so myself…

a New York weekend in the sun with

Young Nick to my left.

A… Riis… Beach… Saturday for

a… ran-… dom… round of play, I

guess that flowing with the funk was

just the east coast way.

~

Hit the sand, fully

tanned with the waves on…

had me livin’, shore side

chillin’ as I gazed on.

I waded in the

water…

then Nick put out an

offer…

~

“Wanna learn how to swim?”

~

Nicky, Nicky, Nicky, why’d you

take me out far? The

motion of the ocean took con-

trol of me.

Nicky, Nicky, Nicky, there’s no

fear in your heart, but the

motion of the ocean made it

hard to breathe.

I tried, you

tried, we tried, even

with some later pointers from

Mel and Jimmy.

Nicky, Nicky, Nicky, why’d you

take me out far, almost

drowning in surrounding waters

by the beach?

~

~

D.J. Whisenant

3 thoughts on “– that time i almost drowned in the ocean –

Leave a Reply

