– razor’s edge –

Certain kind of dances
I don’t do… un-
less it’s a close shave,
I behave.
Bloody red romances
in the room… but
no bleeding today,
though I’ve played with my
two left feet,
1, 2 step on hardwood floors,
even some linoleum for
all that I know. I’m
so discrete;
this kind of dancing dirty won’t just
keep the fire burning – it will
make it explode.
~
I’m… at the
edge, on the
ledge, and before I come
down, let me
crank up that fiery
sound while I’m
living in shame on the
dance floor. With the con-
trol of my feet, I’m con-
trolling the knife. I’m con-
trolling the knife, out here
blazing so bright. With the con-
trol of my feet, I’m con-
trolling the knife. I’m con-
trolling the knife; there’s no
bleeding tonight.
~
~
D.J. Whisenant

Leave a Reply

