– dreams unanswered –

I’ve had diff’rent versions of the same dream,
turnin’ and tossin’ in diff’rent bed sheets.
In diff’rent places, but the faces remained –
high school mixin’ with the college time gang.
Whether we were walking through ole St. Ed’s, or
through the outdoors with graduated heads,
even in a supermarket-turned-stage show, I
couldn’t comprehend the performance in my dome.
~
Been a minute, been a month, been forever since my
visions came to me in the night like a movie.
Been a minute, been a month, been forever, but there’s
still no concluding how the past pursued me.
What’s the meaning? What’s the word?
I’d like to know, my Interpreter.
~
~
D.J. Whisenant

One thought on “– dreams unanswered –

Leave a Reply

