– nightfall: food to go –

Take me up, take me out…
from underneath that deep sound. TAKE ME
 UP through this town I walk once more…
hunger pains just like before. TAKE ME
UP and find a pizzeria, a food hole to meet up
after 1:00 a.m.; cheese is my friend. TAKE ME
UP and order food to go. Go where? I don’t know,
after 1:00, above ground again to TAKE ME
~
UP-and-per-haps-HOME… so much for that
wild-sound-o’er-my-BONES… distracting my
body in attempts to be naughty. Now I’m taking
slices-of-food-to-GO… TAKE-ME
home.
~
~
D.J. Whisenant

2 thoughts on “– nightfall: food to go –

Leave a Reply

