– let’s run away on a tuesday –

Tanya brought me lunch… some

type of beef dish… with

creamy potatoes and greens –

maybe it was spinach?

Saw Jeanette later… after

signing my card… she

asked how I was getting home…

lying gets me so far.

~

Couldn’t tell her I would ride out through the rain –

caught up in the storm, caught up in the day.

Can’t tell her I just need to run away –

almost ev’ry day, though she may feel the same ’cause

Tuesday doesn’t feel like a fireball –

today didn’t feel like anything at all. The

hours flood bland in the waters I wade;

only beef and side dishes then remain.

~

~

D.J. Whisenant

 

5 thoughts on “– let’s run away on a tuesday –

  1. Tuesday Afternoon
    The Moody Blues

    Tuesday, afternoon,
    I’m just beginning to see,
    Now I’m on my way,
    It doesn’t matter to me,
    Chasing the clouds away.
    Something, calls to me,
    The trees are drawing me near,
    I’ve got to find out why
    Those gentle voices I hear
    Explain it all with a sigh.
    I’m looking at myself, reflections of my mind,
    It’s just the kind of day to leave myself behind,
    So gently swaying thru the fairy-land of love,
    If you’ll just come with me and see the beauty of
    Tuesday afternoon.
    Tuesday afternoon.
    Tuesday, afternoon,
    I’m just beginning to see,
    Now I’m on my way,
    It doesn’t matter to me,
    Chasing the clouds away.
    Something, calls to me,
    The trees are drawing me near,
    I’ve got to find out why
    Those gentle voices I hear
    Explain it all with a sigh.

Leave a Reply

