– the devil and the deep sea –

The tide is low…
the shore is high…
Outward I row…
judgment is nigh.
Blame my position,
with both my oars aflame.
Same is my mission…
to win such wicked games.

Thus, I need to stay a-
float, float, float, float,
rowing windless with my
boat, boat, boat, boat,

and if I drown, let me
sink with some dignity,
then if I’m found, let them
find in me some bravery.
I might go down, even
with the sound of rescuing…
yet I need to stay a-
float, float, float, float,
rowing windless with my
boat, boat, boat, boat.
~
~
D.J. Whisenant

2 thoughts on “– the devil and the deep sea –

Leave a Reply

