– requiem –

If life were all beer and skittles,

if I could stop preparing this

requiem for us and I,

wouldn’t need shame as an alibi.

If night wasn’t caught in the middle…

if I could be so daring, this

requiem for us and I would

never take form, would never fly, but

~

these wings were born broken,

a defect we couldn’t stop.

So I’ll say three prayers today, and

give our creature back to God.

These wings were born broken, a

two-horned dilemma I saw.

So I’ll say three prayers today, and

birth a new creature of awe.

~

~

D.J. Whisenant

 

Leave a Reply

