– room for carnage –

I don’t remember the first time
I was desensitize to a violent game.
I can’t recall the worst time
I was desensitize to a violent plain.
Always a stone’s throw away from the chaos,
as my mindless mind could easily see.
Always alone at home away from the chaos,
away from reality.

I don’t remember the first time
I thought of sinister plots in silence.
It has always felt like a cursed time,
living in a sinister era of violence.
Forever feeling both dang’rous and in danger,
as my mindless mind can easily tell.
However, forever feels like a stranger
when you know death all too well. Do I

pray? Do I pry? Do I break down and cry? Do I
ignore the scores of the good lives gone by? If there’s
explosions far ahead, blazes that will burn me dead, I’d
pray, I’d truthfully pray that my mind grew half-a-brain by
either locking rooms or busting through the wood…
mindful of my safety, yet fighting for what’s good.
Carnage can and will seduce… but it won’t turn me loose.

D.J. Whisenant

One thought on “– room for carnage –

Leave a Reply

