– eleven year difference –

One of my nephews is
eleven years younger than me,
held him in my ailing arms
at week two or three.
Moods running a mile or so
when I was a teen.
What a diff’rent race to run now
he himself 16.
One of my nephews is
eleven years younger than me,
spitting image of his bloodline,
fresh-faced and so clean.
Keeper of his sister in a
world so cold and mean.
What a miracle I would praise
if he does see 18.

I try to keep this off my
brain…
that he will not be one of those
slain…
that he is kept covered ’round the
town…
fighting wars eleven years from
now.

D.J. Whisenant

Leave a Reply

